UTEP Volleyball Announces 2018 Slate

UTEP Volleyball Announces 2018 Slate

EL PASO, Texas – The UTEP volleyball team announced its 2018 schedule on Tuesday. Seven home matches, including a three-match home tournament, will take place in Memorial Gym this fall while another 14 road contests will make up the 25-match slate.

Fans will get their first look at the UTEP squad on Aug. 18, when it hosts Universidad Regional del Norte in an exhibition match at Memorial Gym.

The Miners will open the season with four tournaments in as many weeks, beginning with the Tulane Volleyball 1-10 Challenge in New Orleans, La. They will open up the tournament with two matches on Friday, Aug. 24, first against UIW at 10 a.m. MT then a 6 p.m. MT meeting with host Tulane. UTEP will close out its stay at Tulane with a 9 a.m. MT battle against Louisiana on Saturday, Aug. 25. 

The following weekend, the Miners will travel to Omaha, Neb., to compete in the Omaha Challenge Aug. 31 and Sept. 1. UTEP will take on Illinois-Chicago at 9 a.m. MT then UMKC at 4 p.m. MT. Both matches will be played on Friday, Aug. 31. The Miners will face host Omaha at 12 p.m. MT on Saturday, Sept. 1, to close out the tournament.

UTEP will return home to co-host the Borderland Invitational alongside NM State. The team will take on the Pac-12's Arizona on Friday, Sept. 7 at 5 p.m. MT at the Pan American Center, then return to Memorial Gym on Saturday for a meeting with Montana at 12 p.m. MT. The Orange and Blue will close out their short homestand with a battle against rival NM State on Sunday, Sept. 9, at 1 p.m. MT in Memorial Gym.

A trip to San Diego, Calif., will round out the preseason tournaments when the Miners contest in the SDSU/USD Challenge Sept. 14 and 15. The Miners and Oregon State will face-off on Friday at 1 p.m. MT. The Miners will battle San Diego State on Saturday at 10 a.m. MT before heading back to the Sun City.

Conference USA action will begin on Friday, Sept. 21 when the Miners head to Houston to take on Rice at 5 p.m. MT at Tudor Fieldhouse. UTEP will return home to host Southern Miss on Sunday, Sept. 23 at 12 p.m. MT. A week later, UTSA will roll into Memorial Gym to face the home team on Sunday, Sept. 30, at noon.

League action will continue on the road when the Miners travel to UAB on Friday, Oct. 5 to battle the Blazers at 5 p.m. MT. UTEP and Marshall will meet on Sunday, Oct. 7 at 11 a.m. MT.  

A weekend homestand will begin on Friday, Oct. 12 when UTEP hosts Florida Atlantic at 6 p.m. MT in Memorial Gym. The Miners will face FIU on Sunday, Oct. 14 at 12 p.m. MT in front of the El Paso crowd.  

The Miners will head to Ruston, La., to challenge LA Tech on Friday, Oct. 19 at 6 p.m. MT, and then prepare for their Sunday match against Middle Tennessee on Sunday, Oct. 21 at 11 a.m. MT in Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Closing out the month of October will be a three-match homestand, beginning with four-time defending league champion WKU on Friday, Oct. 26 at 6 p.m. MT.  The Miners will meet with Rice for the second time on Sunday, Oct. 28 at noon, and then wrap up the stand with a Sunday meeting against Charlotte on Nov. 4 at 12 p.m. MT.

The Miners will round out regular-season action on road, meeting with North Texas in Denton on Thursday, Nov. 8 at 5 p.m. MT before taking on UTSA on Saturday, Nov. 10 in San Antonio with a time to be determined.

The Conference USA Tournament, hosted by Marshall in Huntington, W.V., will be held Nov. 16-18.

Print Friendly Version